Melissa Schools kicks off 2017-18 school year at Convocation

Convocation 2017-18 040


Aug 2017
User Icon

All Melissa Schools staff came together as a team Monday morning at First Melissa for the district’s annual Convocation.

Harry McKillop Elementary student Brooke Gorry-Pettit led the Pledge of Allegiance while Trey Graham, pastor at First Melissa, led the benediction.

Following a presentation by Superintendent Keith Murphy and Board President George James, eight students from Melissa Schools shared stories they had written about their experiences at school.

Throughout the morning, Melissa High School student Clayton Vaughan worked in the background on a mystery painting, eventually unveiling it to show a rendition of the district’s reading initiative logo.

In addition, awards for Teacher of the Year and Volunteer of the Year for each school and the district were announced by campus principals and Mr. Murphy.

Teachers of the Year
  • Stacey Puckett, Harry McKillop Elementary
  • Mary Lorenson, Melissa Ridge Intermediate
  • Susie Webb, Melissa Middle School
  • Julie Wooten, Melissa High School
  • Louise Hickey, District
Volunteers of the Year
  • Connie Thompson, Harry McKillop Elementary
  • Tomarie Brown, Melissa Ridge Intermediate
  • Betty Walthall, Melissa Middle School
  • Diane Whittington and Suzy McCraw, Melissa High School

Media Contact: Maddie Coe, Community Relations

Download Press Release
Change Font Size
Scroll to top