Melissa Schools celebrates gratitude at Convocation; Teachers, Volunteers of the Year announced

Keith Murphy, Megan Moore, Kyle Brenner, and George James at Convocation 2018


Aug 2018
User Icon

All Melissa Schools staff returned for professional development on Monday at the new Melissa High School facility. The theme of the day was “gratitude”.

Professional development began with the district’s annual Convocation and continued with the Melissa Live conference. Lunch was provided by the district’s new food service provider, Southwest Foodservice Excellence (SFE).

To open Convocation, Melissa High School student council president Leah Tyner led the Pledge of Allegiance and the Texas Pledge. Principals Walter Perez, Michele Austin, Marcus Eckert, and Kenneth Wooten shared tributes to their respective campuses and staff.

Keynote speakers at Convocation included Keith Murphy, Superintendent of Melissa Schools, and Dr. Isiah Joshua, Jr., a veteran educator who, during his tenure at McKinney ISD, served as a teacher and principal.

Kenny Deel, Executive Director of Operations, introduced the Melissa Schools custodial and maintenance staff and expressed his appreciation for their work during the Summer 2018 Melissa Schools Move. The group received a standing ovation.

In closing, the 2019 Melissa ISD Teacher of the Year and Volunteer of the Year recipients were announced and are listed below.

2019 Teachers of the Year
  • Kimberly Pope, Elementary
  • Heather Blankenship, Elementary
  • Brandon Dunn, Melissa Middle School
  • Megan Moore, Melissa High School
  • Megan Moore, District
2019 Volunteers of the Year
  • Elise Blount, Elementary
  • Shannon Sweat, Elementary
  • Jennifer Mathieson, Melissa Middle School
  • Clint Scribner, Melissa High School

Please join us in congratulating these educators and volunteers for their dedication to the students of Melissa Schools.

Over the next two weeks, the Melissa Schools staff will continue to prepare for the upcoming 2018-19 school year. Students return for the first day of school on Tuesday, Aug. 28.

Download Press Release

Media Contact:
Maddie Coe, Community Relations

Change Font Size
Scroll to top