a graphic advertising the Melissa Schools Wall of Honor featuring 2020 inductees Don and Sue Hixon

Nominations for the 2021 Melissa Schools Wall of Honor opened Friday, Sept. 10, 2021, with a deadline of Friday, Oct. 1, 2021.

The Wall of Honor recognizes former students, former staff, and community members who have positively and significantly impacted the district and society. This ongoing initiative distinguishes altruistic, high achieving individuals with a significant history.

Ten honorees have been inducted into the Wall of Honor since the program’s inception in 2016: Amy Burchett, Helen Garvin Browning, Corinne Gibson, Lee Hill, Don Hixon, Sue Hixon, Dave Phillips, Tony Williams, Doug Zadow, and Lisa Zadow. Each honoree exemplifies the Melissa ISD core values of integrity, loyalty, honesty, humility, and hope.

Inductees are featured on the Wall of Honor at the Melissa Schools Home Office, in addition to being recognized at a Melissa Cardinal varsity football game at Cardinal Stadium in the fall. Honorees will also have the opportunity to go on a tour of Melissa Schools.

The Wall of Honor qualifications and nomination form can be found online at www.melissaisd.org/wallofhonor, which also outlines the selection process, recognition festivities, and a timeline of events.

Featured in the photo above are 2020 honorees, Don and Sue Hixon.