The Band

Our Program

The Melissa Band Program was started in 2005. Over the past 12 years, the program has become one of the premier band programs in the State of Texas. It has reached the Texas State Marching Contest 2 times in the last 4 years, it has received numerous UIL Sweepstakes awards, Best in Class Awards, Best Percussion, Best Colorguard, NTCA Percussion Championship, NTCA Colorguard Silver Medalist, NTCA Percussion Medalist and numerous Students making All Region, All Area and All State Bands. The Melissa Band Program prides itself in holding the students to high expectations throughout the year just not musically, but to make life long learners and lovers of music.

Our Mission

The purpose of the Melissa Independent School District’s Band Program is to support the Melissa ISD vision of empowering ALL students to reach their utmost potential to achieve excellence and life-long success. The Melissa ISD Band Program will empower learners to develop their creativity in all aspects of their lives and to become life-long contributors to the local and global community through the arts.

Meet the Directors

2017-18 Student Leadership Team

Head Drum Major
Kealey Poole

Assistant Drum Majors
Nicole Kasson & Oscar Villegas

Band Captains
Jasper Murphy / Jacob Gallimore / Percussion TBA / Guard TBA

Equipment Captain
Seth Russell

Uniform Captain
Caeleb Fender

Section Leaders
Yadira Valdez

Rosie Ruiz

Clayton Ashley

Tyler Wilson

Verah Banasky

Cale Hayes

Brice Baker

Camille Bogdan


2016-17 Student Leadership Team

2016-17 Student Leadership Team

Head Drum Major – Kealey Poole
1st Assistant Drum Major – Aaron McClean
2nd Assistant Drum Major – Jacob Gallimore
Flutes: Kayla Galbreath, Caitlin Griset
Clarinet: Mikah Inge
Saxophones: Nicole Kasson, Clayton Ashley
French Horns: Verah Banasky, Seth Russell
Trumpet: Grant Spurgin, Tyler Wilson
Trombone: Caeleb Fender, Cale Hayes
Baritone: Nathan Serna
Tuba: Grant Kemnitz
Percussion: Captain – Aaron Vaughan
Section Leaders: Collin Caldwell, Mary Margaret Jordan, Danielle Mitchell
Guard Captain – Katerley Wilson
Lt. Captain – Layne Kemnitz 

Change Font Size
Scroll to top